Rant Moving In From A Westerly Direction
The evening wasn't so bad. After finishing up my paperwork for the day I played a little Guitar Hero (nice to see my skills returning, although I still seem to get lost on the fret board and that hasn't happened in a good long while) which made me feel shockingly sick and dizzy. Then a little Final Fantasy X which didn't. It's been so long since I've played a FF game that I'd almost forgotten how utterly amazing they are, and it's nice to be pulled back into their world. I know the story for each is different, but the elements are always the same (and that's no bad thing!) and it's nice to have warriors with enormous swords and summoners and chocobos and all those things back! I just wish I hadn't missed everything since Aeris died in FF7 (as I may have said before, when she died I didn't think the world was worth saving, and never carried on!). I'd like to think one day I'll go back and fill in the blanks, but we all know that will probably never happen!Then we watched The Devil Wears Prada again. We only got it on Sunday and watched it that very evening, but Shaz wanted to see it again and see it again we did. It's a good film, superficially a chick flick but with what appears to me to be some interesting dilemmas about work and growing up. It seems to me that essentially her friends are just content to continue their student existences, whereas Andy tries to grow up and accept her role in an adult society, whereas they accuse her of selling out and betraying her principles, even though we see nothing in the movie to suggest that. Sure she becomes interested in fashion, but that's hardly a crime is it? She certainly doesn't become one of those people so obsessed with it that she judges people based on their appearance, and yet her so called friends seem more than happy to do this, and that my friends is just inverse snobbery. She works hard, yes, but that's because she's the PA to one of the most important people fashion and whilst she may not get the monetary rewards one might reasonably expect, the perks are utterly amazing and the list of contacts she could build would be mind boggling. And yet she jacks it all in because her scruffy idiot of a boyfriend (incidentally a chef who never seems to work in the evenings, then applies for and accepts a job in another city without telling her) tells her she lacks integrity. Why? Which of her lofty principles is she betraying by having a job exactly? Her early conviction that fashion is stupid? Hate to tell you this but changing your mind about something isn't betraying a principle, it's just changing your mind. Yes, she wants to be a journalist, but I don't see how she betrays this ideal by working at the top flight of magazine publishing first. It just means she isn't some naive little girl who doesn't have a clue how things are. Anyway, it IS just a film. I guess it just kinda exercises me a little. And don't even get me started on the double standards for success for men and women...
Okay, I really need to relax a little! Now it's time for bed.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home