Fear Of A Crap Title
Pink Floyd. What the fuck? I say again, what kinda reality do we live in where The Killers get one song, and Pink Floyd, who admittedly haven't played together for twenty-four years, get over half an hour!? I'm not even listening to them now, I've never liked Pink Floyd one little bit - I find their muso leanings and endless twiddling utterly tiresome - in fact the only band I've ever allowed to have ten minute solo's was The Doors, and thats because they were great and also taking the sort of drugs that made them interesting, whereas the Floyd were clearly on the sort of things that made them THINK they were interesting... and let's not even get started on 'concept albums'... here's a concept for you: interesting music & decent songs! Of course this is just the first leg on Pink Floyd's inevitable "We Want More Money For Our Old Age" comeback tour (cynical? puh-lease, don't embarrass yourself). So anyway I'm not listening to Pink Floyd, I'm over here typing this and oddly listening to The Divine Comedy (I've had this craving to hear National Express all day). Ah they've gone now, and Sir Paul McCartney is on now, nice to see that they're keeping it real for the kids eh?I have this theory that the Beatles are dying in reverse order of talent, which explains why John died so much sooner than the rest of them. Then George a couple of years back, and I guess Paul will be next... and Ringo will not only outlive us all, he'll be the last thing alive on the planet when the sun finally goes out. Who's being mean??? Oh me, yeah, quite right.
Speaking of the sad deaths of musicians, Luther Vandross died yesterday. One day I'll go through a list of what certain pivotal musicians taught me over my formative years, but for now I'll just say this: Luther taught me how to love, to be romantic and to treat my woman right. I'll miss him, although his music will always be with me.


0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home