Picasso Visita El Planeta De Los Simios
Well I got some of my enthusiasm back with a little effort and a surprising amount of running (guess all those endorphins helped eh?). When I got back home I ended up spending most of the day watching trash TV and was astounded to discover this reality show called The Farm which, well the title pretty much gives it away, its set on a farm, and 'celebrities' have to live together on this farm and do farming related tasks and all that sort of thing. So far so Big Brother right? I suppose the only reason that it stuck in my head at all was the sort of people who are on the show. You've got the usual collection of models and wannabes, a couple faded entertainers (one of whom has bought his bloody bastard puppet - I hope somebody murders Keith Harris and fucking Orville...), some bloke whose only claim to fame is that he used to date some actress from EastEnders, and then it gets weird. Y'see the remaining three contestants are: Italian porn-star turned politician La Cicciolina, another porn star in the disturbing form of Ron Jeremy, and Flavor Flav from Public Enemy! Now everyone else I can understand being there to one degree or another, but Flavor? What the fuck man? If I need to lay down my credentials here, I was one of the first people in the UK to have a copy of PEs debut album waaaaaaaaay back in '86, so for me to see Flavor in a situation like that is just utterly bizarre and wrong. Also I really doubt that anybody watching the show has the first clue who he is, it's not like Public Enemy ever had any mainstream success back in the day. Still its fuckin' weird. It's like... actually I can't think of anything its like that is even close to as bizarre as having Flavor Flav on a reality TV show set on a farm...Resident Evil 4 continues to be the finest game I've played in forever, and it's also making me unreasonably excited about the impending arrival of Killer 7 (no that one isn't a sequel,you play a killer with multiple personalities and there are seven of them, hence the title - doesn't sound at all weird does it?).
Have I mentioned Casshern? No, no I don't believe I did. Okay I don't even know where to begin with that one. I saw it a couple of days ago, so I'm kinda surprised I haven't mentioned it, what with all the incessant H2G2 ranting. Okay, here we go. As a movie it's a mess. The plot is all over the place, characterisation is minimal to non-existant, the visual style varies from the brain-buggeringly magnificent to unbelievably cheap and shoddy... and yet somehow I found much to enjoy there. I'm not even going to attempt to justify my enjoyment because it is entirely unreasonable. If you get the chance to see this one, make sure you're stoned first. It'll help... probably.


1 Comments:
Casshern...no you hadn't mentioned it but you BARELY mentioned it there! lol what IS it? ;p
I saw The Taste of Tea again as can be read in my blog. Oh wow I should go blog again. I forgot to talk about all the French things we did.
Like eat paté (and like it!)
and eat breadbutterjam dipped in hot beverge for breakfast (and like it!)
nahhh i really don't need to
if i want i can mention it later
i've taken up tea as a partial result of the vacation and partial result of the box my g-ma sent me
verveine is rockin'
i dunno what that is in english
or if it is even different
or if that is even french
damn i really have to get to that homework
so i can go home and make phone calls
what is your job interview about? i need details since you never e-mail me anymore ;p
that is fine btw it is easier to communicate via blogs lol :D
Post a Comment
<< Home