Tyrantasaurous Rex
I've not commented on current events a great deal of late, and that's largely because I just don't have a clue what the hell is going on. Well, I'm developing a theory; I believe the stupidity level in the country (and perhaps the world) is reaching critical levels and we are facing some sort of Stupidity based Apocalypse. As far as I can see that could all too easily happen, the average person in the street is composed of roughly 85% stupidity and 10% ignorance, with the other five percent being a mixture of arrogance, alcohol, football, Big Brother and other minor constituents which vary from person to person. However it seems, that the average stupidity level is rising and that could be a problem. A stupid critical mass could be as little as one celebrity magazine away, and that could prove disastrous, forming a "black hole" of cretinousness from which no thought (intelligent or otherwise) could escape.I mean, what the hell is going on with all the bloody stabbings? In our metropolitan centres teenagers seem to be stabbing one another with an almost gay abandon and the police, the government and their parents seem powerless to stop it. The politicians have bizarre ideas like taking people with knives to see stab victims, like they're somehow so divorced from their actions that they don't realise that the point of the stabbing is to hurt people. Yet this seems to be the line the government is taking; they've raised and educated a whole generation that doesn't know that stabbing people is bad. What's massively more likely is that they're raised a generation who have no hope. They're the children of the children of people who failed in school, failed to work and who've lived their whole lives scrounging from the state. And they get no encouragement from their parents, and they're lost, for want of a better word. How we find them, I'm damned if I know, but no matter how much the government claims that it's creating a society of opportunity for all it does no such thing; it's still far too much a question of who you know and not what you know. In essence it's the same thing I've always complained about; there's too much of the old ways left in the very structure and essence of this country, and until we have the sense to sweep the board clean (and let's face it, that'll never happen now, the government will go to any lengths to protect itself) we will always have these problems. We're an old country, and we've never had the revolutions we needed to clear out the old crap and now it's just choking us, or perhaps more accurately, growing like a cancer in our towns and cities.
So yeah, that was cheery. On the other hand, ever since I saw the end of Fellowship the other day, I've had Lord Of The Rings on the brain! With a weeks holiday coming up soon, I'm wondering if it might be the right time to try the free trial of LotR Online. There's a big part of me (that'd be the nerd) that wants to give it a try, and there's a much smaller and more realistic part of me that points out that I hardly have time to play WoW these days, let alone embark on another alternate, online life. And don't even get me started on EVE...

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home